Advisory Committee

The Centre’s Advisory Committee represents the chronological range of Global History at Oxford, from Ancient to Late Modern History.

Prof. James Belich
Beit Professor of Imperial and Commonwealth History
Balliol College
james.belich@history.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Prof. Elleke Boehmer
Professor of World Literature in English
Wolfson College
elleke.boehmer@ell.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Dr. Erica Charters
Director, Oxford Centre for Global History 2016-18; Associate Professor of the History of Medicine
Wolfson College
erica.charters@wuhmo.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Prof. Martin Conway
Professor of Contemporary European History; Chair of History Faculty Board
Balliol College
martin.conway@history.ox.ac.uk

 

 


Prof.John Darwin
Director, Oxford Centre for Global History / Professor of Global and Imperial History
Nuffield College
john.darwin@history.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Dr. John-Paul Ghobrial
Associate Professor and Lucas Fellow in Early Modern History; Deputy Research Director (History Faculty)
Balliol College
john-paul.ghobrial@balliol.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Antony Green
Associate Director of Development (Academic Programmes)
antony.green@devoff.ox.ac.uk

Prof. Abigail Green
Professor of Modern European History
Brasenose College
abigail.green@bnc.ox.ac.uk

 

 

 

Prof. Pekka Hamalainen
Rhodes Professor of American History
St. Catherine’s College
pekka.hamalainen@history.ox.ac.uk

 

 


Prof. Mark Harrison
Professor of the History of Medicine, Director of the Wellcome Unit for the History of Medicine
mark.harrison@wuhmo.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Dr. Catherine Holmes
University Lecturer (CUF) in Mediaeval History
University College
catherine.holmes@univ.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Prof. Jane Humphries
Professor of Economic History
All Souls College
jane.humphries@history.ox.ac.uk

 

 


Andrew Hurrell photoProf. Andrew Hurrell
Montague Burton Professor of International Relations
Balliol College
andrew.hurrell@balliol.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Prof. Miles Larmer
Professor of African History
St Antony’s College
miles.larmer@history.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Dr. Conrad Leyser
Associate Professor of Medieval History
Worcester College
conrad.leyser@history.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Prof. Margaret MacMillan
Warden of St Antony’s College
St Antony’s College
margaret.macmillan@sant.ox.ac.uk

 

 


Dr. James McDougall
University Lecturer in 20th Century History, Laithwaite Fellow and Tutor in Modern History at Trinity College
Trinity College
james.mcdougall@history.ox.ac.uk

 

 


Prof. Rana Mitter
Professor of the History and Politics of Modern China
St Cross College
rana.mitter@history.ox.ac.uk

 

 


Prof. Polly O’Hanlon
Professor in Indian History and Culture
Oriental Institute and St Cross College
rosalind.ohanlon@orinst.ox.ac.uk

 

 


Prof. Kevin O’Rourke
Chichele Professor of Economic History
All Souls College
kevin.orourke@all-souls.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Dr. Amanda Power
Sullivan Clarendon Associate Professor in History
St Catherine’s College
amanda.power@stcatz.ox.ac.uk

 

 


Prof. David Priestland
Professor of Modern History
St Edmunds Hall
david.priestland@seh.ox.ac.uk

 

 


Prof. Nicholas Purcell
Camden Professor of Ancient History
Brasenose College
nicholas.purcell@bnc.ox.ac.uk

 

 


Dr. Simon Smith
Senior Tutor, Brasenose College    
simon.smith@bnc.ox.ac.uk

 

 

 

Dr. Alan Strathern
Associate Professor, Tutor and Fellow in History
Brasenose College
alan.strathern@bnc.ox.ac.uk

 

 

 

Prof. Stephen Tuck
Professor of Modern History
Pembroke College
stephen.tuck@history.ox.ac.uk