Advisory Committee

The Centre’s Advisory Committee represents the chronological range of Global History at Oxford, from Ancient to Late Modern History.

Prof. James Belich
Beit Professor of Imperial and Commonwealth History
Balliol College



Prof. Elleke Boehmer
Professor of World Literature in English
Wolfson College



Dr. Erica Charters
Director, Oxford Centre for Global History 2016-18; Associate Professor of the History of Medicine
Wolfson College



Prof. Martin Conway
Professor of Contemporary European History; Chair of History Faculty Board
Balliol College



Prof.John Darwin
Director, Oxford Centre for Global History / Professor of Global and Imperial History
Nuffield College



Dr. John-Paul Ghobrial
Associate Professor and Lucas Fellow in Early Modern History; Deputy Research Director (History Faculty)
Balliol College



Antony Green
Associate Director of Development (Academic Programmes)

Prof. Abigail Green
Professor of Modern European History
Brasenose College




Prof. Pekka Hamalainen
Rhodes Professor of American History
St. Catherine’s College



Prof. Mark Harrison
Professor of the History of Medicine, Director of the Wellcome Unit for the History of Medicine



Dr. Catherine Holmes
University Lecturer (CUF) in Mediaeval History
University College



Prof. Jane Humphries
Professor of Economic History
All Souls College



Andrew Hurrell photoProf. Andrew Hurrell
Montague Burton Professor of International Relations
Balliol College



Prof. Miles Larmer
Professor of African History
St Antony’s College



Dr. Conrad Leyser
Associate Professor of Medieval History
Worcester College



Prof. Margaret MacMillan
Warden of St Antony’s College
St Antony’s College



Dr. James McDougall
University Lecturer in 20th Century History, Laithwaite Fellow and Tutor in Modern History at Trinity College
Trinity College



Prof. Rana Mitter
Professor of the History and Politics of Modern China
St Cross College



Prof. Polly O’Hanlon
Professor in Indian History and Culture
Oriental Institute and St Cross College



Prof. Kevin O’Rourke
Chichele Professor of Economic History
All Souls College



Dr. Amanda Power
Sullivan Clarendon Associate Professor in History
St Catherine’s College



Prof. David Priestland
Professor of Modern History
St Edmunds Hall



Prof. Nicholas Purcell
Camden Professor of Ancient History
Brasenose College



Dr. Simon Smith
Senior Tutor, Brasenose College




Dr. Alan Strathern
Associate Professor, Tutor and Fellow in History
Brasenose College




Prof. Stephen Tuck
Professor of Modern History
Pembroke College